RIVER AVON FLOODING

Jan Mels

Featured Posts

Hi all - this is my first time on here - we are taking a canal boat for a  week voyage and completing the Avon ring from 22/8- 5/9. We are a family of 3. We are worried about the river flooding and the 36 locks before Alvechurch.  any advice on the river or if there is a way we can moor in between the 36 locks / 

thanks Jan

I would be discounting the Avon given the recent and expected over the next few days rain. It is running quite high already, and wouldnt take more than one occluded front to push it into danger area.  

The EA gauges show when the river is likely to flood properties and land, not become a danger to navigation......you need to keep a close eye on the Avon Navigation Trust website if you are still planning this cruise.https://www.avonnavigationtrust.org/navigation-alert-sign-up/

Screenshot_20200819-212115_Chrome.jpg

Are you experienced in boating..? The Avon Ring in a week's hire can be hard work as it will involve some long days.  The ring is 109 miles and 130 locks.

The Tardebigge flight really needs to be completed in one day, not stopping part way.  If you are hiring from Alvechurch then day one depending on the time you leave you need to aim to get to the Queen's Head but if you don't have enough hours of daylight to do that then stopping below the top lock is the only real option and then a long day the next day to Worcester.  Day 3 would be Tewkesbury or Pershore, Day 4 Evesham or somewhere on the Upper Avon, day 5 Stratford giving time to look round and then heading off so that day 6 you can clear lapworth.  As over nighting around King's Norton isnt great you need to either be at Hopwood or have a very early morning on the last day to get back in time.

1 hour ago, Rob-M said:

Are you experienced in boating..? The Avon Ring in a week's hire can be hard work as it will involve some long days.  The ring is 109 miles and 130 locks.

From https://canalplan.uk/cgi-bin/canal.cgi