Advice on boat valuation

Noobasaurus Rex

Featured Posts

Hello everyone, first post ever so be kind!

Having decided to follow the masses and buy a narrowboat in this very buoyant market, I am going to be annoying and ask about boat valuations as a complete noob. Found one I like the look of in a marina so will remain cagey on name / precise location (it's up north) etc but details are as follows:

1. 50' Liverpool Boat built in 1992, traditional stern, 10/6/4 with reported pitting<1mm in last survey (and yes I would be getting my own in the case of being serious about it).
  2. Regularly blacked and anoded, valid BSS.
  3. Beta Marine engine (can't remember which model) that started from cold immediately with the tiniest single whiff of smoke. Recently been used as a CC'er.
  4. Immaculate engine bay and gas locker.
  5. Outside paint job looks good.
  6. No obvious signs of water damage to any walls or panelling.
  7. Oven / fridge / stove / bathroom all look good, good amount of solar panelling on roof and batteries only about a year old. No inverter but that suits me fine! Decent sized SS water tank.
  8. Invoices and receipts available for recent electrical and plumbing work.
  9. Internal fixtures (cabinets and such) are... dated. Layout is mostly fine but would be looking to make it much more 'open plan,' keep the appliances but remove a large amount of cupboards and sofas / seating in the galley / saloon and do a lot of redecorating.

I forgot to check the cabin bilge for water / corrosion, or indeed how the cabin is insulated (and that this insulation is actually installed everywhere!), make and age of gearbox or what state any water pumps were in. However the engine and other 'systems' looked to be extremely well maintained and I believe this to be the case across the whole boat, although of course I would look to confirm as much of this as humanly possible.