Newbie question - BMC engine

David Florence

Featured Posts

My neice has purchased a small (32ft) narrowboat. I'm a newbie too but I'm trying to help her get to grips with what she's bought... 

1. In the engine compartment is BMC engine, No idea of what size it is. I understand the cooling system could be one of two types, raw water or heat exchange. Attached is a photo of what I assume is a heat exchanger, could someone confirm this, or else tell me what it is? - Also what is the plunger thing that the arrow is pointing to?

2. Secondly, there is a tube between the propeller access box and the drive shaft with a tap at each end. - What on earth is this for? - Photo attached.

Sorry for naive questions, but this poor lass needs help to get her dream boat sorted!!

engine2e.jpg

glan3d.jpg

The plunger thing looks to be a dipstick for the gearbox. No idea why there is a tube going from the propshaft to the weedhatch. Others will know. Judging by the dirt on the filter I'd say the engine hasn't been serviced recently so needs to be on your list of things to do.

56 minutes ago, David Florence said:

Secondly, there is a tube between the propeller access box and the drive shaft with a tap at each end. - What on earth is this for? - Photo attached.

Most narrowboats have a 'greaser system' that the lubricates the shaft - the system you have is the less common "water lubricated" system. The 'tap' on the shaft looks 'open' but the 'tap' by the weed-hatch is in the off position.

You look to have an excessive amount of oil polluted water in the bottom of the boat that is so deep it looks to have breached the engine bilge and flooded into the main bilge. You need to get it out and disposed of  into an oil recycling tank. DO NOT let it get pumped overboard.

Edited by Alan de Enfield

The whole blue thing is the gearbox and I think its a TMP hydraulic box. The box is cooled by internal waterways hence the big hoses.