We need to move a wide beam from Nottinghamshire to Oxfordshire

Featured Posts

Hi all. We are complete novices to the boating world and we are in the process of buying a widebeam from Nottinghamshire (Langley Mill Boat yard) and will be looking to truck it down to Thame and Kennet Marina in Reading. The boat yard it is currently in does not have a crane. Does this mean it needs sailing to a place where is a crane or can one be hired? Can anyone recommend anything please and maybe a trucking company to transport it? Thank you so much.

Thank you to the peeps who have replied already. How the hell do I answer you? Not good on computers either!!

Edited by ldtreacher
update

4 minutes ago, ldtreacher said:

Hi all. We are complete novices to the boating world and we are in the process of buying a widebeam from Nottinghamshire and will be looking to truck it down to Thame and Kennet Marina in Reading. The boat yard it is currently in does not have a crane. Does this mean it needs sailing to a place where is a crane or can one be hired? Can anyone recommend anything please and maybe a trucking company to transport it? Thank you so much.

Some info. about exactly where you need to get from and to would help.

Welcome anyway.??

If its the widebeam I think it is, it is in our yard. We don't have access to get a crane in unfortunately as our access road is only 7ft wide and twisty and turny. Because of this we have to access our neighbours land to be able to crane in or out. Given the reach for the size of the vesseI, and the size of the crane required, I think the best option is to try redhill or Sawley marinas at the bottom of the Erewash to slip out. 

Kind regards

Dan

Langley Mill Boatyard 

• Greenie 1
  • Happy 1

1 hour ago, ldtreacher said: