Delph Developments

dave moore

Featured Posts

Living not far from the flight, I wandered down earlier to have a look at work in progress on lock 2. The team appear to be re-pointing the lock walls, chasing out old mortar. The bottom lock is receiving attention too, the chamber covered with sheeting, while a gantry by the head of the lock suggests a change of gate.

I couldn’t help but compare the equipment in use to that of the 60s on the restoration of the nearby Stourbridge 16, where I worked as a teenage volunteer. No safety fencing, wheelbarrows across planks straddling the lock chamber and tripod sheerlegs to install gates. Truly, a different world!  

84E9D396-93CA-4C7B-B9FB-2131FEB0A14A.jpeg

• Greenie 4

I suppose it not just about stopping folks falling in, its also about stopping folks nicking plant and scaffolding overnight, making jobs easier, creating a standard operating system so contractors appointed can just subcontractor it to others who havnt a clue about canals and just turn up and read the instructions...

I agree in principle that modern practices are much better then old practices. Everyone has a right to return home ok at the end of a shift.

However - the paperwork side has gone a bit bonkers.

We spend so much time writing out individual works and task procedures <RAMS> for things our skilled chaps have spent a liftime doing (the same tasks).

Not only that - our highly qualified Engineers often have to sit down for 4 hour bespoke  "inductions" on some building sites when the single visit task takes 30 mins - often use of only a wrench and screwdriver, then we leave.

I do sometimes despair.

Edited by mark99
  • Greenie 2

21 hours ago, mark99 said:

I agree in principle that modern practices are much better then old practices. Everyone has a right to return home ok at the end of a shift.

However - the paperwork side has gone a bit bonkers.