Wifi??? What is the best most efficient set up?

James H

Featured Posts

6 minutes ago, James H said:

Wifi??? What is the best most efficient set up?! We are complete newbies so any advice is much appreciated... Thanks ?

You're gonna have to give some context to get any meaningful advice.

Have you tried the search facility? Its not as though this had not been discussed endlessly here before!

7 minutes ago, James H said:

Wifi??? What is the best most efficient set up?! We are complete newbies so any advice is much appreciated... Thanks ?

I use 3 and my smartphone they have a sim only deal that is very cheap, it also allows unlimited streaming as well, cheaper than the dongle I used to use

• Haha 1

Surely the first question is do you need wifi? A mobile phone used as a mobile hotspot will do most of what a separate wifi system does at no additional cost. That does assume you have a phone provider that covers your area and a suitable tariff, but you also need that for a mifi.

3 minutes ago, David Mack said:

Surely the first question is do you need wifi? A mobile phone used as a mobile hotspot will do most of what a separate wifi system does at no additional cost. That does assume you have a phone provider that covers your area and a suitable tariff, but you also need that for a mifi.

Using a phone like that  is WiFi!   All WiFi is is the radio communication between a device and say a router/access point.  In the case of the phone, the phone is operating as a router.

• Greenie 1

6 minutes ago, Mike the Boilerman said:

So are we really saying the OP already has wifi and perhaps doesn't realise it? 

I think people confuse WiFi, which is a real technology, and MiFi which is just a name coined for a certain type of router/access point.

1 hour ago, James H said:

What is the best most efficient set up?!

If by 'best most efficient' you mean cheapest, then turn on "personal Hotspot' on your iPhone (or the equivalent on your ANDROID) and then you'll have it!