BMC 2.52l Thorycroft 154 advice

Fisher34

Featured Posts

I have this engine in my seagoing Fisher 34. It’s the original 1979 engine. 1800 hours. I bought her in 2016. The exhaust was a total rebuild. Have serviced her yearly since and she has run smoothly. Noticed several perished connectors including that from water cooler to engine. That perished last trip out, last week, noticed engine overheat, switched off and we were towed back. Are there any experts on this type of engine who travel to Dorset to repair in situ? Would be happy to pay for an assessment. 

FDB5B0C8-7A73-4F67-A8E1-9C02C7A3FC03.jpeg

Do you mean perished rubber or corroded aluminium?

I would comment that the manifold cum heat exchanger looks more Polar than Bowman to me and Polar no longer exist. I am no expert on the BMC 2.5 but that thermostat housing looks nothing like the ones used by the official marinisers on 2.2s. It may be a Thornycroft special who are again no longer trading. If it is corroded alloy I fear this may involve extensive new parts unless you can find an aluminium welder who can repair/fabricate.

Lancing Marine list a few parts as do ASAP supplies.

Thanks for the reply. Aluminium is fine it was just perished 5cm rubber hosing attached by two jubilee clips each side. However would love to find an expert to take a look. Although I can easily repair that bit it’s just one of the perished rubber hose connectors. 

CE7C77E2-5EEA-498E-A2ED-4535952A48E8.jpeg

20 minutes ago, Fisher34 said:

Thanks for the reply. Aluminium is fine it was just perished 5cm rubber hosing attached by two jubilee clips each side. However would love to find an expert to take a look. Although I can easily repair that bit it’s just one of the perished rubber hose connectors.