River Severn - Single Handed

jeddlad

Featured Posts

I'm planning a trip down the Severn from Stourport to Gloucester, I'll be single handed. Does anyone have any advice or experience to pass on? I've been on rivers before but nothing like the Severn.

I've got VHF, life preserver, anchor with chain, phone numbers of the locks, will be checking the river state via the EA.

Do I need a bow rope that I can hold from the stern? I'm a bit concerned about the locks and of course Gloucester lock and the wier!

Thanks

PS I've plenty of canal experience just not so much on rivers

5 minutes ago, jeddlad said:

I'm planning a trip down the Severn from Stourport to Gloucester, I'll be single handed. Does anyone have any advice or experience to pass on? I've been on rivers before but nothing like the Severn.

I've got VHF, life preserver, anchor with chain, phone numbers of the locks, will be checking the river state via the EA.

Do I need a bow rope that I can hold from the stern? I'm a bit concerned about the locks and of course Gloucester lock and the wier!

Thanks

PS I've plenty of canal experience just not so much on rivers

You will be fine.

The locks are easy, because the lockies (mostly!) know what they are doing, and of course they are all worked for you.  Your thoughts are good - it shows you have done your research - but a lot of first time hire boaters use that stretch with minimal training and very few catastrophes!

The trick with Gloucester Lock is to ring or radio the lockie when you come past the Upper Parting before you hit the East Channel, and follow their advice, and the lock will likely be open and green lighted when you reach it.  If not, it's critical to get your stern line on the chains first which won't be a problem for you single handed.