Research on life afloat!

Jacinta

Featured Posts

Hi everyone! I’m a postgraduate student from Oxford University, and I’m doing research on the experiences of people living afloat in London. If any of you would be happy to do so, I would love to be able to talk with you about your experiences and opinions. I am particularly interested in questions of infrastructure and governance in light of increasing pressure on moorings and facilities, as well as opinions about governance by the CRT and Environment Agency.

I hope that my thesis will generate insight and relevant recommendations for policy. If you would be interested to share your experiences, or to air any grievances you have about boating facilities (anything from toilet waste facilities to ways of keeping your boat cooler in this weather…), please do send me a message here to find out more!

Thank you,

Jacinta 

Hi everyone! I’m a postgraduate student from Oxford University, and I’m doing research on the experiences of people living afloat in London.

I am particularly interested in questions of infrastructure - both at the broader scale of to what extent the CRT is succeeding in providing sufficient facilities and moorings for boaters, but also how boaters maintain their homes day-to-day with regards to water supply, disposing of toilet waste, heating boats, etc. in ways which are unique to life afloat. 

I hope that my thesis will generate insight and relevant recommendations for policy. If you would be interested to share your experiences of boating, or even to air any grievances you have about boating facilities, please drop me a message. I would love to chat with you about it. 

Thank you,

Jacinta

Hi @Jacinta welcome to the forum, just a little tip if you want to use the private messaging on the forum you need to make a couple more posts before it will activate for you.