Jump to content


Photo

Single core cable


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:20 PM

When fitting this boat out I have used single core cable for all the sockets. Is there going to be a problem when I need a BSC? I see they say its good practice to use multicore cable but I guess that means its not mandatory that multicore cable is used just recomended.
  • 0

#2 Ryeland

Ryeland

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gloucestershire
  • Boat Name:Ryeland

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:29 PM

Do you mean 12V or 240V sockets?

Richard
  • 0

#3 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:32 PM

240v sockets
  • 0

#4 frangar

frangar

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midlands
  • Boat Name:Doris

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:36 PM

Its not a BSS fail but its def not good practice.....its because of the vibration...it might fracture a single core which would cause a fire risk cos of overheating

cheers

Gareth
  • 0

#5 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:40 PM

Its not a BSS fail but its def not good practice.....its because of the vibration...it might fracture a single core which would cause a fire risk cos of overheating

cheers

Gareth


The circuit is a ring final and it will have a rcd and mcb protecting the circuit.
  • 0

#6 Ark Right

Ark Right

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Continuous Cruiser

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:43 PM

When fitting this boat out I have used single core cable for all the sockets. Is there going to be a problem when I need a BSC? I see they say its good practice to use multicore cable but I guess that means its not mandatory that multicore cable is used just recomended.


Hi, assume you mean a BSS, if this is a new boat being fitted out you should be adhering to the RCD directive surely?
Cheers
A
edited to say Recreational Craft Directive, so not to confuse Op with electrical Rcd

Edited by Ark Right, 28 February 2012 - 09:45 PM.

  • 0

If I had all the money I've spent on drink, I'd spend it on drink.


#7 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:46 PM

Hi, assume you mean a BSS, if this is a new boat being fitted out you should be adhering to the RCD directive surely?
Cheers
A


Its not a new boat and yed I mean BSS. Yes it will have a RCD.

im not sure what a Recreational Craft Directive is.

Edited by leeco, 28 February 2012 - 09:47 PM.

  • 0

#8 Ark Right

Ark Right

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Continuous Cruiser

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:54 PM

Its not a new boat and yed I mean BSS. Yes it will have a RCD.

im not sure what a Recreational Craft Directive is.


If its not a new boat then the directive does not concern you, though single core cables no matter how they are protected would certainly concern me.
Cheers
A
  • 0

If I had all the money I've spent on drink, I'd spend it on drink.


#9 frangar

frangar

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,919 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Midlands
  • Boat Name:Doris

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:57 PM

The risk is of a core breaking within the insulation...this wont trip an RCD or MCB but given a reasonable current flow would cause an overheat hence why its not recommended. If its fitted then theres not much you can do....however if it could be changed I would be tempted just to be on the safe side.

Cheers

Gareth
  • 0

#10 Chalky

Chalky

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Boat Name:Lady Jacqueline

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:01 PM

There's a reason why the aerospace and automotive industries use multi strand cable. Exactly as described earlier - single core cables will stress fracture.
  • 0

Only the truly enlightened know the sound of one pannier flapping. 


#11 NMEA

NMEA

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Boat Name:Kingfisher

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:02 PM

When fitting this boat out I have used single core cable for all the sockets. Is there going to be a problem when I need a BSC? I see they say its good practice to use multicore cable but I guess that means its not mandatory that multicore cable is used just recomended.


Do you mean single core i.e. single conductor (which could be solid or multi strand) and you have used 3 single cables for the AC, or do you mean multi core i.e 3 core solid conductor?

Edited by NMEA, 28 February 2012 - 10:05 PM.

  • 0

Mikuni, Wallas and Webasto appointed dealer, advanced NMEA certificated electronics technician.


#12 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:05 PM

Ok I see where you are all coming from and will look into replacing it.

Cheers

Do you mean single core i.e. single conductor (which could be solid or multi strand) and you have used 3 single cables for the AC, or do you mean multi core solid conductor?


I mean single core conductor which is just 1 core of 2.5 mm2 copper. Twin and earth like you would use in a house.

Edited by leeco, 28 February 2012 - 10:07 PM.

  • 0

#13 Gazboatman

Gazboatman

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds
  • Boat Name:Unknown

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:13 PM

Ok I see where you are all coming from and will look into replacing it.

Cheers



So you think we're gonna be removing all those boards and replacing wire do you? :blink:

Edited by Gazboatman, 28 February 2012 - 10:13 PM.

  • 0

#14 leeco

leeco

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:14 PM

So you think we're gonna be removing all those boards and replacing wire do you? :blink:


Yes every single one.
  • 0

#15 Gazboatman

Gazboatman

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds
  • Boat Name:Unknown

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:19 PM

Yes every single one.

Ok, let me know how you get on.
  • 0

#16 steelaway

steelaway

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,921 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NE Derbyshire
  • Boat Name:SteelAway

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:22 PM

Yes every single one.




Most modern boats are wired with Arctic Blue 3 core flex cable -- Cable
You do not need to run a ring circuit simply run from one to the next down the boat
The cable is rated at 16A and that's all power available from a landline / fuse / ELCB

Alex
  • 0
I used to think I was indecisive - now I'm not so sure

#17 Grace & Favour

Grace & Favour

    Long Standing Member

  • Site Crew
  • 8,508 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:22 PM

So you think we're gonna be removing all those boards and replacing wire do you? :blink:


Ooops :unsure:

I like collecting recipes

I now have a greater number of recipes than the likely number of days remaining to me!

 

 

Don't waste time thinking about what's wrong with yourself. Instead, focus on what's wrong with other people.


#18 RLWP

RLWP

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kenilworth
  • Boat Name:Tawny Owl

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:26 PM

So you think we're gonna be removing all those boards and replacing wire do you? :blink:


Why? If you were rewiring a house, you join the old cable to the new one, then pull the old one through the trunking, bringing the new one with it

It even worked for me on the lighting cable through the trunking from under the stairs up to the loft

Richard
  • 0

Primrose Engineering @Primroseeng

 

Until Dan gets his act together, you can donate to the running costs of the CanalWorld forum via Paypal using the button at the bottom of this page:  btn_donate_LG.gif


#19 Chalky

Chalky

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Coventry
  • Boat Name:Lady Jacqueline

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:28 PM

So you think we're gonna be removing all those boards and replacing wire do you? :blink:


I fitted all of my wiring in conduit. White for 12V black for 240V. Means that I can replace and update the wiring relatively easily. Would be a complete nightmare otherwise.
  • 0

Only the truly enlightened know the sound of one pannier flapping. 


#20 Gazboatman

Gazboatman

    Long Standing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds
  • Boat Name:Unknown

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:28 PM

Why? If you were rewiring a house, you join the old cable to the new one, then pull the old one through the trunking, bringing the new one with it

It even worked for me on the lighting cable through the trunking from under the stairs up to the loft

Richard

There is no trunking.

But suppose it still could be done this way.

Edited by Gazboatman, 28 February 2012 - 10:33 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users